Umps blew the same call again!

Sunday, May 10, 2015

Umps blew the same call again!

Either Major League Baseball's umpires need to review the Rules Book, or they need to be more observant, 'cause the same thing the New York Mets Bartolo Colón got away with against the Atlanta Braves last month, Washington Na­tion­als pitcher Tanner Roark pulled off yesterday afternoon against that same Atlanta team.

With the bases loaded and one out in the top of the eight inning and the Brave behind by three runs, on the fourth pitch to Jace Peterson the ball was bounced slowly down the first base line.

The only chance for a play was for Roark to field it and field it he did, and immediately attempted to tag Peterson as he passed him.

Ball in right hand as tag is made with an empty glove in the left hand Detail of ball still in right hand as tag in made with left hand

First base umpire Jim Reynolds made an out call as the runner scored from third... even though Roark applied the tag with an empty glove, the ball clearly still in his right hand.

Instead of bases remaining loaded and still one out, it was runners on second and third with two out and only one of the Braves announcers caught Reynolds' flub.

Rule 2.00, Definitions of Terms, states that...

"A tag is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove."

Different game, different umpiring crew, same result: Atlanta is recipient of a bad call.

More importantly, Braves' manager Fredi González himself had better start being more observant!

Comments

Name
URL
Email
Email address is not published
Remember Me
Comments

CAPTCHA Reload
Write the characters in the image above